Nobel Prizes 2020

1)Physiology (Medicine): The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2020 was awarded jointly to Harvey J. Alter,  Michael Houghton, and Charles M. Rice "for the discovery of the Hepatitis C virus. It should be noted that the Prize in this category is decided by The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet.  To read more, visit here

2)Physics: This prize has been given to 3 Astrophysicist, All of these scientists worked on advancing the human understanding of black holes. These scientists are Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez.  Penrose who is from Britain will get 1/2 of the prize money while Genzel from Germany & Ghez from America, both will get 1/4 each of the rest half of the Money.

Penrose will get the prize for his finding that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity while Genzel & Ghez will get it for their discovery of a supermassive compact object at the center of our galaxy.  Ghez is only the fourth woman to win the Nobel in physics, following Marie Curie in 1903, Maria Goeppert Mayer in 1963 and Donna Strickland in 2018. To read more about it, visit here.

3)Chemistry: has been awarded to two women scientists for their discovery of a method for "Genome Editing" Known as “genetic scissors” or as a tool for rewriting the code of lifethey are Charpentier, who is French, and Doudna, an American, become the sixth and seventh women to win a Nobel for chemistry, joining the likes of Marie Curie and Frances Arnold. To know more click here

4)Literature: The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2020 was awarded to the American poet, Louise Glück. , has been awarded the prize "for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal". To read more, click here.

5)Nobel Peace Prize: went to WFP(World Food Program), a body of UNO, the WFP, which provides food assistance to millions across the world, had acted “as a driving force in efforts to prevent the use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict”, working since its foundation in 1961.  started working in India in 1963. To read more visit me 

Nobel Prize in Economics: also called the Memorial Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economics, has been awarded to a pair of Stanford professors " Professor Paul R Milgrom and Professor Robert B Wilson " for improvements to auction theory and inventions of new auction formats. To read more, click here